Art Work of the Day, May 27, 2009

woman in riding habit

Edouard Manet
Woman in Riding Habit, Fulllface, c. 1882
Oil on canvas; 73 x 52 cm
Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid

From the Museo Thyseen-Bornemisza catalog: “The Woman in a Riding Habit, Fullface belongs to an unfinished series on the subject of the Four Seasons which Manet painted in the last two years of his life as a commission from his friend Antonin Proust, the Minister of Fine Arts.”

It is most likely that Woman in Riding Habit was intended to represent summer, though the heavy black riding outfit, with its top hat and high buttoned collar hardly seems ideal summer attire. Manet’s most famous models were Berthe Morisot, his sister-in-law and fellow artist, and Victorine Meurent. This is a new sitter, a famous actress in the comedie francaise, but the style is what we would expect from Manet, the father of impressionism. It’s a striking image, one that drips of modernity.

3 thoughts on “Art Work of the Day, May 27, 2009

  1. I love the impressionists, my favourite painter is Monet. I’ve chosen one of his London paintings as my avatar.
    Love your blog. I’ll link it to mine so I can be updated about any new posts. Do you mind?

    • Hi Maria I’m glad you like the blog! I’m linking to yours as well — you write about all my favorite things! I love it. Cheers, Kathleen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

