A Few Important Insights to Why I’m Me

Why I’m so happy in the kitchen:
Besides a life long love of food, my mother gave me my first cookbook (appropriately entitled “My First Cook Book: A life-sized Guide to Making Fun Things to Eat” with equally appropriate 1990s food styling) in 1990, when I was 5 years old. I don’t recall ever making anything in the book… I started watching the food network non-stop when I was about 8. My favorite show was “how to boil water.” These days I prefer “Escoffier: The Complete Guide to the Art of Modern Cookery” and Michael Chiarello’s “Napa Style” (when he’s not on Top CHef Masters).

Why I’m an art historian:
As an only child I had to keep myself amused often. I had a lot of coloring books and sketchbooks and colored pencils and prismacolor markers — all of which went with me everywhere, even out to restaurants. My favorite coloring book was called “Color Your Own Degas.” My motto was “you can never have enough crayons.”

Why I have a shoe problem:

As a toddler, my mother used to take me to The Merry-Go-Round, a children’s shoe store in Hartsdale. All my shoes came from France. I also blame The Wizard of Oz. It was my favorite movie and of course, those ruby pumps were a pretty integral part of the plot development. I continue to have an unhealthy obsession with red patent.

One thought on “A Few Important Insights to Why I’m Me

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

