Where were you two years ago, Part III

awaiting the procession of candidates

awaiting the procession of candidates

It was an unusually warm night and I was sitting outside on a plastic chair on College walk. Bleachers and chairs had been set up for the University Commencement and the fountains filled with ferns and flowers. It was nearing morning, and a group of us had decided the best way to spend our last night as undergrads was to wander the campus and reminisce. A security guard told us we had to leave and eventually, tired, we dispersed and made our way back to our respective twin-XL beds.

In the morning, we gathered outside of Avery in our powdered blue gowns awaiting the chime of St. Paul’s bells and the commencement of our Commencement ceremony. Mike overslept. So did Bill and Dan. Luckily there was Andres and Tiffany, Chris and Brendan, Jen and Rachel, and others. We were all carrying apples, which served a dual purpose. On one hand, they were our sustenance for the upcoming 2 hours. On the other, they were a symbol of the course work we had completed — Columbia College’s famous Core Curriculum. They were going to be chucked at Barnard at the conclusion of the commencement exercises. That’s the tradition any how. I think I ended up throwing mine at a dental student. I thought that was more appropriate.

Bill and Dan catch some zzzzs (and some sun) during Prez Bo's address.

Bill and Dan catch some zzzzs (and some sun) during Prez Bo's address.

Prez Bo spoke and it was a great speech. Dan and Bill caught up on their beauty rest (they really needed it). My godfather, Hilton, his wife, Heather, my godmother, Marion, my folks, and my surrogate aunts, Janet and Joan were in the audience and were very impressed with out dear ol’ super cool University President. I’m excited to hear what he has to say in 2009. We’re at the verge of a new world and the CU graduates are privileged to be walking out of this university in this singular economic climate with the degrees they have earned.

back to 2007…

Appropriately, Barbara Novak, the Americanist in art history whose books are canonical in the field, was given a special award. There were a few other important announcements and other awards and other speeches. It was 90 degrees and I was sweating into a Marc Jacobs dress that would have been considered vintage by Marc Jacob standards. The gown was unzipped and half off. I could tell my forehead was burning, and as it turned out, I wasn’t wrong. When I got home, I realized I had a peak shaped sunburn that marked the outline of my cap. Thanks. Wear Sunscreen. I should have remembered.

President Bollinger is so cool.

President Bollinger is so cool.

After Commencement, the Reckling clan traveled back to Westchester, where after a quick change of costume, there was a champagne toast. Sean joined the ensemble and we headed to midtown for dinner at Brasserie 8 1/2. Susan and Boris took seats at the table, where blue drinks in honor of Columbia were popular choices. Too many toasts were raised and too many appetizers were ordered. It was a wonderful celebration with all the people who had been there for me since day 1 or who had shaped the course my life followed up to that point.

Afterward, I was dropped back at Hogan where my task was to finish packing before the morning move-out. Fail.

I met Dan to say good-bye. A quick hug in the middle of Broadway. The short good-byes are the best. Chris, Genvieve and I met in my suite and headed over to 1020. Schneider was already there and along with Chris, the three of us closed the bar. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed Schneider. We walked back to Hogan where eventually we would all make our way back to our own suites after many hugs and nostalgic reflections on the years past.

With only about 3 hours of sleep under my belt, I woke up and finished packing up my items in Hogan 4b. Saw Chris one more time in the hallway before loading the final bags into the car. Said my good-byes to Rachel and Mike and Hosey — we’d all be seeing each other soon enough. God know how much stuff was left behind in that suite. I knew I’d be back in the fall, but as the car pulled down 114th and as I evaluated the contents that had come out of the suite and thought back on Wednesday night and the days before, I knew that Columbia was never going to be the same. I waved back at a few familiar faces, ones I have yet to see again. The chapter had closed and the emptiness dug by the good-byes was mitigated only by the excitement about what lay in the near future.

grads

The photo that defines Freshman year procrastination

The photo that defines Freshman year procrastination

Where were you two years ago, Part II

Mike demonstrates the many uses of the Marshall's aguilette.

Mike demonstrates the many uses of the Marshall's aguilette.

I was wearing a powder-blue gown that matched my square, pizza-box hat and I standing at the top of low library steps getting ready to walk down college walk and into the tent on the lawn in front of Butler library. It was Tuesday, May 22nd and it was Columbia College’s Class Day.

I was exhausted. Monday was a haze… I still don’t really remember what happened. I had finally made it to bed by 6AM (I think). I woke up 3 hours later and met Mike for bagels at Nussbaum & Wu, which we ate in his car while he waited for the street cleaners to finish so he could park. I had a few appointments with Professors and then I think I went home to have dinner with my godfather and his wife, who had just flown in from South Africa. I feel like there was something after that. Maybe a party? Maybe the heights? I don’t remember. All I know is I was sober… and in need of sleep.

For Class Day and commencement, I was a senior Marshall along with Mike. Besides providing us with nifty arm gear (see picture above), we had the privilege of walking in first, which meant prime seats during the ceremony. Yes, there I was front row, 4 feet from Prez Bo, Dean Quigley and our keynote speaker, Lost’s Matthew Fox.

Our Keynote speaker, Lost's Matthew Fox... Oh! What a Charmer!

Our Keynote speaker, Lost's Matthew Fox... Oh! What a Charmer!

I had no idea who Matthew Fox was. I had never seen an episode of Lost. I was skeptical, but he charmed my charles jourdan sandals right off. He spoke about unconventional paths and following your dreams. He recalled being laughed at by his friends who had pursued careers on wall street while he slowly made his in the world of acting. Who’s laughing now? Did Matthew Fox have some sort of strange insight into the future? Did he know Marty and Jake were joining the circus? Did he know Dan would say good-bye to finance to work on a mountain? Did he know I was saying No to my econ degree and yes to academia? It was a good speech.

Last night, Matthew Fox was on Jimmy Kimmel and I made sure to tune in to watch my now favorite alum (and his abs).

Lunch was had, pictures were taken with friends and family, I nearly fell asleep in my salad. I might have gone home to Westchester for dinner. I don’t remember. I do remember a party at Bobby’s in Hogan (but then again, that might have been Monday night). I realized Mike and Bobby are really long-lost identicial twin brothers. There was a John Jay 11 reunion and a photo. There was a pretty competitive game of beer-pong. It Shannon and I versus Mike and Bill. Mike and Bill won in a single cup face off. There teamwork was a welcomed turnaround from their March one-on-one basketball game to the death. Chris came in as I stumbled out, waving good-bye to my suitemates and former floormates, hoping I wouldn’t fall down the 3 flights of stairs. There were only 5 hours till commencement and I needed my beauty rest…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.